Donna Jean Nethery
Michigan Marriage Laws
Updated: Nov 18, 2021
All your need to know info in one place? Yes, please!!!
If you are a Michigan resident, you must apply in the county where you live. If both parties are Michigan residents, you may apply in either county. The license is valid throughout the state.
If both parties are out-of-state residents, you must apply in the county where you are going to be married. The license is valid in that county only.
There is a three (3) day waiting period in Michigan. The waiting period does not include the application day.
Marriage License Fee: $20 – Residents $30 – Non-Residents
Marriage licenses are valid for 33 days from the date of issuance. You must get married within thirty days.
Do not apply if your ceremony will be held more than 34 days from today.
Be sure to contact your local County Clerk’s Office well in advance of the wedding to find out on what days and during what hours the Clerk will be in the office. Some locales will require an appointment.
Marriage must have 2 witnesses.
Blood test is not required.
You must be 18 years old to apply for a marriage license.
Valid driver's license or state ID needed for identity verification.
Ontonagon County Clerk: LINK https://www.ontonagoncounty.org/county-offices/county-clerk-register-of-deeds/